All Saints Church, Kingston Upon Thames
Moving the organ inside the church would obstruct two of the Memorial windows. It was decided to combine the two memorial windows into one. Once the two windows were removed, we arranged the painted detail in order to fit the four shields and inscriptions. The window behind the organ was replaced with a leaded light in cathedral glass.
The church has a fascinating history: Egbert, King of Wessex, held his great council here in 838 and Athelstan and Ethelred the Unready were two more of the seven Saxon kings of England crowned here in the 10th century. Construction of the present church began in 1120. There is a 14th century wall-painting of St Blaise, the impressive 16th century tomb of Sir Anthony Benn, a 17th century marble font attributed to Sir Christopher Wren, twelve bells and an 18th century Carillon, the great west window of the 19th century, and the magnificent Frobenius organ installed in 1988. There is a Memorial Chapel of the East Surrey Regiment.